-A +A

RADOST in Exchange with Coastal Planners in the USA

An important part of the RADOST project, in addition to creating regional adaptation strategies with citizens on the ground, is the exchange of positive experiences in the implementation of climate change adaptation measures in geographically similar regions not only in Europe but all over the world. The “Social Coast Forum” of the USA’s National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) was the first in a series of activities with which RADOST, through its coordinating institution, Ecologic Institute, will intensify the exchange with regions on the east coast of the United States and in the Chesapeake Bay.

On the occasion of the Social Coast Forum, more than 200 coastal planners, social scientists, and representatives of industry met from 14-16 February 2012 in Charleston, South Carolina. Hosted by the Coastal Services Center of the NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) of the United States, the event was just organized for the first time but will take place every two years in the future.

This platform provided RADOST with an opportunity to exchange views with the forum’s participants about culturally dominant attitudes and perceptions in the coastal regions of the USA and the Baltic Sea region. As part of the workshop “Ask the Audience: Climate Change and Cross-Cultural Coastal Zone Management: Knowledge for Action in the U.S. and Europe,” internet-based software was used to collect and discuss questions about coastal attitudes and their influence on the implementation of adaptation measures. The participants agreed that cultural imprints determine actors’ strategies and influence their behavior in concrete situations. Therefore, it is essential to take these factors into account in order to successfully plan and implement adaptation measures.

The Vice Mayor of Broward County (Florida), Kristin Jacobs, was also represented at the Social Coast Forum and discussed the relevance of concrete adaptation measures in flood-threatened Florida in her opening remarks. Although the State of Florida is generally recognized as a hotbed of “climate skeptic” activity, Broward County has managed, during Kristin Jacobs’ many years as County Commissioner, to make itself be heard at the state and national level. Recently, a regional Climate Change Action Plan was completed in Broward County, which is part of the greater Miami area and, with 1.7 million residents, ranks 18th according to inhabitants among more than 3,000 counties and county-equivalents in the US.

RADOST project leader Grit Martinez at the Workshop „Ask the Audience: Climate Change and Cross-Cultural Coastal Zone Management: Knowledge for Action in the U.S. and Europe”
Photo: Hansje Gold-Krueck, NOAA Coastal Services Center

RADOST hopes to extend the exchange with communities, regional coastal planners, and representatives of civil society in the USA continually. In addition to planned workshops in cooperation with regional planning associations in Maryland and North Carolina, a meeting is scheduled for early March in Washington, DC with representatives from the recently created “Adaptation Group” of the NOAA. The program also includes in-depth discussions with local decision makers, including with Vice Mayor Kristin Jacobs, and surveys of representatives from politics, administrations, and civil society. Questions central to this dialogue are: Which difficulties do players in the US have to overcome? What adaptation approaches are already in use? How can regions in the US and the Baltic Sea area learn from one another? These international activities of the RADOST project are being carried out in cooperation with the Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences at Duke University in North Carolina. As part of the connection, RADOST Project Leader Grit Martinez (Ecologic Institute) was named Adjunct Associate Professor at the Marine Laboratory of Duke University in Beaufort and began her guest appointment there in February 2012.

Respondent taking part in a survey via cell phone 
Photo: Hansje Gold-Krueck, NOAA Coastal Services Center

-A +A

RADOST im Gespräch mit Küstenplanern in den USA

Ein fester Bestandteil des RADOST-Projektes ist neben der Erarbeitung von Anpassungsstrategien mit den Menschen vor Ort auch der Austausch positiver Erfahrungen bei der Umsetzung von Anpassungsmaßnahmen an den Klimawandel in geographisch vergleichbaren Regionen in Europa und weltweit. In den USA bildete die Beteiligung am “Social Coast Forum” der National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) den Auftakt einer Serie von Aktivitäten, mit denen RADOST durch seinen Koordinator, das Ecologic Institut, den Austausch mit Regionen an der Ostküste und in der Chesapeake Bay intensiviert.

Anlässlich des ersten Social Coast Forums trafen sich vom 14. - 16. Februar 2012 mehr als 200 Küstenplaner, Sozialwissenschaftler und Vertreter der Privatwirtschaft in Charleston, South Carolina. Zu der Veranstaltung, die von nun an alle zwei Jahre stattfinden soll, hatte das Zentrum für Küstenaufgaben der nationalen Regierungsorganisation NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) eingeladen.

Diese Plattform nutzte RADOST um mit Teilnehmern des Forums in einen Austausch zu kulturell dominierten Einstellungen und Wahrnehmungen in Küstenregionen in den USA und in der Ostseeregion zu kommen. Im Workshop „Ask the Audience: Climate Change and Cross-Cultural Coastal Zone Management: Knowledge for Action in the U.S. and Europe” wurden mittels einer internetbasierten Software Fragen zu Küstenmentalitäten und deren Einfluss auf die Umsetzung von Anpassungsmaßnahmen diskutiert. Die Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass kulturelle Prägungen das Handeln von Akteuren bestimmen und ihre Haltung in konkreten Situationen beeinflussen. Um Anpassungsmaßnahmen erfolgreich zu planen und durchzuführen, sind diese Faktoren daher notwendigerweise mit in den Blick zu nehmen.

Vertreten war auf dem Social Coast Forum auch die Vizebürgermeisterin von Broward County (Florida), Kristin Jacobs, die in ihrer Eröffnungsansprache die Bedeutung von konkreten Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel im überflutungsgefährdeten Florida betonte. Obwohl der Bundesstaat Florida im Allgemeinen als eine Hochburg der „Klimawandelskeptiker“ gilt, hat es Broward County während der langjährigen Amtszeit von Kristin Jacobs als Mitglied der Kreisregierung geschafft, sich auf bundesstaatlicher und nationaler Ebene Gehör zu verschaffen. Erst unlängst wurde ein Aktionsplan zum Klimawandel in Broward County verabschiedet, einem Gemeindeverbund, der zum Grossraum Miami gehört und mit 1,7 Millionen Einwohnern an 18. Stelle in der Bevölkerungszahl von mehr als 3.000 Countys und vergleichbaren Gebietseinheiten in den USA steht.


RADOST-Projektleiterin Grit Martinez auf dem Workshop „Ask the Audience: Climate Change and Cross-Cultural Coastal Zone Management: Knowledge for Action in the U.S. and Europe"
Foto: Hansje Gold-Krueck, NOAA Coastal Services Center

RADOST wird den Austausch mit Gemeinden, regionalen Küstenplanern und Vertretern der Zivilgesellschaft in den USA kontinuierlich vertiefen. Neben weiteren Workshops in Kooperation mit den regionalen Planungsverbänden in den Bundesstaaten Maryland und North Carolina ist Anfang März ein Treffen in Washington, D.C. mit Vertretern der kürzlich ins Leben gerufenen „Anpassungsgruppe“ bei der NOAA geplant. Auf dem Programm stehen außerdem weiterführende Gespräche mit lokalen Entscheidungsträgern wie beispielsweise mit Vizebürgermeisterin Kristin Jacobs sowie Umfragen unter Vertretern von Politik, Verwaltung und Gesellschaft. Im Zentrum dieses Dialogs stehen die Fragen, welche Herausforderungen die Akteure in den USA bewältigen müssen, welche Anpassungsansätze es bereits gibt und wie Regionen in den USA und im Ostseeraum voneinander lernen können. Die internationalen RADOST-Aktivitäten werden in Zusammenarbeit mit der zur Duke University gehörenden Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences in North Carolina durchgeführt. Dazu trat die RADOST-Projektleiterin Grit Martinez (Ecologic Institut) im Februar 2012 einen ersten Gastaufenthalt an der Meeresforschungsstätte der Duke-Universität in Beaufort an. Sie wurde dort zum Adjunct Associate Professor ernannt.


Teilnehmer bei der Umfrage via Mobiltelefon
Foto: Hansje Gold-Krueck, NOAA Coastal Services Center